The Pridwin Hotel and Cottages is a classic all-wood American resort hotel that has been providing guests a unique experience on Shelter Island since 1927. The nearly 10-acre site on Crescent Beach was selected for its protected waters, gentle bay breezes, and for its breathtaking water views.
Like Shelter Island itself, the Pridwin maintains much of its original charm. As one recent guest noted, “The Pridwin…is a timeless classic, a piece of America that many thought had died out, honest and decent even magical.” The Pridwin is a seasonal hotel that opens in May and is in full swing from the last weekend of June through Labor Day with a range of resort amenities including a private pool, small private beach, two docks, and bar, lounge and restaurant overlooking the bay. With rooms that are considered modest in proportion by some, the hotel boasts a large comfortable lobby, a “living room,” for guests to congregate, play and relax.
The Pridwin has a variety of boats for water activities including paddle boards, kayaks, sunfish, a rowboat and one-speed cruiser bicycles for rent, as well as the excellent Moussa Drame Tennis Club, on the premises.
The Pridwin Bar Lounge offers a great range of music and an array of special drinks (hard and soft), excellent local and imported wines for afternoon relaxation, sunset celebration or gazing at the stars.
The Pridwin’s legendary Wednesday-night outdoor cookouts followed by live music and dancing provide fun for all ages.
Spectacular hiking is available nearby on the trails of the 1500-acre Mashomack Nature Preserve, one of the crown jewels of the Nature Conservancy. And there is both a public and a private golf club on the island, and miniature golf too!
We welcome sailors and motor boaters! Private dock space and safe anchorage are available.
During the months of May-June and September-October, the Pridwin Hotel accepts guests seeking a quieter escape. And with full-service catering and bar, the Pridwin is a perfect place for weddings and corporate retreats – contact us for details.
HISTORY OF THE PRIDWIN
Named after the shield (“Prid’win”) of the legendary Celtic hero, King Arthur, the Pridwin Hotel was built from 1924 to 1926 by an English concern named the Queens Company Ltd. After the Queens Company Ltd. ran out of money and defaulted on their payments, Francis Myers, one of the building contractors, acquired the property. He completed construction and opened for business in 1927, operating the business until his death in 1947. Byron Nurse, who had been a former manager of the Biltmore Hotel in New York City, purchased the Pridwin and operated it until his death in 1951. His spouse, Lorraine Nurse, inherited the property and together with William Fraser, operated the hotel until it was purchased by the Frost, Mobius and Petry families in 1961.
Frederick and Mildred Frost had been guests of the hotel since 1930. They learned it was for sale while they were vacationing one Labor Day with their daughter and son-in-law (Richard Petry). The Petry’s continue to operate the Pridwin Hotel to this day.